What financial services software has the largest market share right now?
Microsoft leads 2024 financial-sector application software revenue; Fiserv was the core U.S. banks named most in a 2022 survey.
Microsoft ranks first in Apps Run The World's 2024 ranking of application software revenue from financial firms, with 14.7% of a $42.9 billion worldwide market. That total includes finance and HR software alongside banking applications, and Microsoft's listed products are Dynamics 365 and Microsoft 365.
Fiserv comes first for core banking in the American Bankers Association's 2022 survey of U.S. banks, where 42% of respondents named Fiserv as their core system vendor. The revenue figure weights vendors by sales, while the survey reports what percentage of responding banks named each vendor. No source we reviewed publishes a current revenue share for core banking software alone.
How do the revenue and core banking rankings compare?
| Vendor | Apps Run The World revenue rank, 2024 | ABA share of responding U.S. banks, 2022 | Share of 2020 credit union survey respondents, via the Kansas City Fed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | 1 | Not in survey lists | Not reported |
| FIS | 2 | 9% | 3% |
| Jack Henry | 5 | 21% | 12% |
| Fiserv | 6 | 42% | 31% |
| Temenos | 8 | Not in survey lists | Not reported |
| CSI | Outside top 10 | 7% | Not reported |
Ranks follow the report's main table; its FAQ lists a different top 10, so ranks below FIS are less certain. "Not in survey lists" means the vendor appears neither in the ABA's chart of core vendors chosen by at least 2% of respondents nor among the smaller ones it names. The credit union figures are 2020 survey results from Credit Union Times, as cited by the Kansas City Fed, and the same data put FedComp at 10%.
How far ahead of FIS is Microsoft?
FIS ranks second, but the page shows its revenue and share only to subscribers, so Microsoft's lead isn't public. The July 2025 report combines revenue that vendors report in a yearly survey with the publisher's own research.
How reliable is the ABA survey?
The ABA recorded 338 responses between September 13 and October 7, 2022. Its percentages describe those respondents, not every U.S. bank, and the report lists no weighting by bank size.
The Kansas City Fed's March 2024 briefing says FIS mainly serves large and midsized banks. It cites a 2019 Aite report counting 78 banks above $10 billion in assets on FIS cores.
What do vendor customer counts show?
Jack Henry's annual report for fiscal 2026, which ended June 30, says its core systems serve more than 900 banks and more than 700 credit unions. Those are the company's own client counts, not an independent tally or a market share.
Who is signing the most new core banking contracts?
IBS Intelligence's Sales League Table ranks systems by the number of qualifying new contracts, so a small bank's deal counts the same as a global bank's. The 2026 edition covers deals signed in calendar 2025 and excludes renewals and extensions of existing contracts. IBSi's June 11, 2026 announcement reports 1,347 qualifying deals from 60 participating vendors across 19 categories, 358 of them India domestic deals.
Temenos ranks first for universal core banking on IBSi's Temenos profile, and Intellect Design Arena ranks first for retail core banking on its profile. Vendors enter by submitting their own deals for verification, so a vendor that doesn't submit is simply absent. FIS and Fiserv aren't named in the 2026 leadership list, so their absence says nothing about how many systems they sold.